Watch the birdie…

I recently acquired a new digital SLR camera – a Canon 450D – which has a facility called Live View, which lets you connect the camera to a computer and set things up so that you can see on the monitor what the camera lens is ‘seeing’. I have always envied those photographers who have the skill, and the patience, to get close-up shots of wild creatures, so I thought I would have a go with my new hardware. I set the camera up on a tripod near my bird-feeding station, ran a cable back to my conservatory and connected it to my laptop. There I sat, in comfort, and waited for the birds to come.

I had focused the camera on a feeder containing niger seeds – a food adored by goldfinches (and apparently by no other species). The picture below is the best of the shots I got. Not bad, I felt, for a first try.

Wild goldfinch at niger-seed feeder

1 Response to “Watch the birdie…”


  1. 1 Charlie November 1, 2008 at 1:22 am

    John–

    Not bad????

    Brilliant is what I’d call it.

    Well done!

    Charlie


Leave a Reply

