Thomas Hardy country

This is the Marshwood Vale in Dorset – the county where I live in south-west England. It is the area which Thomas Hardy called Wessex (the land of the West Saxons) in his novels (remember “Tess of the d’Urbervilles”, “Far from the Madding Crowd”?)

In the background is the sea of Lyme Bay and the fossil-rich Jurassic Coast.

marshwoodvale1.jpg

4 Responses to “Thomas Hardy country”


  1. 1 drtombibey March 8, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    This is the kind of picture I have in my head as the “English Countryside,” though I have never been there.

    Leave a comment on my post about “where I come from” and I think my readers will come visit, at least on the Net.

    Dr. B

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  2. 2 johnchap March 9, 2008 at 9:28 am

    I have put a comment up for you to look at. Afraid it’s rather long and prosaic, compared with some of your more lyrical contributors. If it’s not appropriate, let me know.

    John

  3. 3 drtombibey March 9, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Hey John, I thought it was great. I look forward to the exchange of ideas.

    Dr. B

  4. 4 LS March 10, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    That is gorgeous. I don’t think I’ve ever been that far west. I’ve been as far as Salisbury and it does look a little similar in its flatness. We just don’t have pristine countryside like that over here.


Leave a Reply

