A Fresh Start

This is my first post on WordPress, having moved my blog over from Blogger.

I am now in a strange limbo: my book –“Playing the Empire – A Dancer’s Life” – has been published, but as yet I have not received my copies from the printer. It is listed in the USA, on Amazon.com, but not yet in the UK on Amazon.co.uk. So I feel I can’t yet launch my marketing campaign. Still, only a few days now, I hope . . .

Someone asked who my book is aimed at. I suppose, like most biographies, it will appeal particularly to the older generation – to those who still have some nostalgic recollection of, or feeling for, the first half of the Twentieth Century, and perhaps to some who lived and worked in overseas territories. But, insofar as it tells the story of a remarkably courageous young woman (I guess she would be called ‘feisty’ today), I would hope it might interest younger people as well. Time will tell.

5 Responses to “A Fresh Start”


  1. 1 Trudi Topham January 20, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    If you’re publishing through a certain well-known PoD company, it takes time for the listing to appear on Amazon.co.uk. Give it a couple of weeks and it’ll turn up.

  2. 2 daretoeatapeach January 20, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    As a book publicist, my advice to you is start your marketing campaign as soon as possible. Remember that big magazines finish their issue half a year before it comes out so once your book is out for sale it is old news to them. You may not be able to tour yet, signing autographs etc., but you can certainly do interviews.

    Good luck.

  3. 3 johnchap January 21, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Wow! Two months on Blogger and never a comment. Two hours on WordPress and a couple of responses already! Thank you, Trudi and daretoeatapeach, for your encouragement.

  4. 4 Roy Rainford January 22, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Congratulations on your launch. Quite a project. Like the cover & look forward to the read. Will probably buy via Amazon UK when available. Hope to see you on one of your signings.

  5. 5 Graham January 22, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Hearty congratulations on the publication of your first book. It looks fascinating and I’ll order from Amazon in due course. I liked the pedlarpress website and was amused by the blog. I look forward to seeing you on Richard & Judy’s “good springtime reads” promotion!


Leave a Reply

