First verse

Here’s a little bit of nonsense that I wrote over forty years ago – but I think it is still relevant:

The Fashionable Rebel
The worst of the social diseases today,
Which the public in general condones, is
That ultimate symbol of moral decay –
The race to keep up with the Joneses.
Initiative’s dead, Eccentricity too;
Conformity’s Lord of the Revels.
High-seeking Ambition is limited to
These uniform Jonesian levels.

But I have burst open these bonds without fear –
To do as I please I am free now!
And the joke of it is that the Joneses, I hear,
Are trying to keep up with me now . . .

1 Response to “First verse”


  1. 1 Joan Butler July 22, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Bravo! I can take any amount of this!


Leave a Reply

